Newick Church of England Primary School

'Life in all its fullness' John 10:10

Early Years

Our Curriculum 

Every child deserves the best possible start in life and the support that enables them to fulfil their potential. Our Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) Reception class ensures that our children learn and develop well and are kept healthy and safe. We offer our children a broad range of knowledge and skills that provide the right foundation for good future progress through school and life.


Areas of Learning

There are seven areas of learning and development. All areas of learning and development are important and inter-connected. The seven areas are broken down into the prime and the specific areas. 

Prime Areas

The prime areas are important for building a foundation for igniting children’s curiosity and enthusiasm for learning, forming relationships and thriving.

These are the prime areas:

• communication and language

• physical development

• personal, social and emotional development


Specific Areas

The specific area are where the three prime areas are strengthened and applied.

These are the specific areas:

• literacy

• mathematics

• understanding the world

• expressive arts and design

Learn more about our areas of learning

Click on the blocks below to find out more about the areas of learning

Communication and Language      Physical Development Personal, Social and Emotional Development        Literacy

 Mathematics Understanding the World Expressive Arts and Design